Free shipping Australia wide with every book order over $50!*
* Some items excluded, these are clearly marked in the item's description

$49.95 Add to cart


August 2017


Hardback - Full colour






297 x 20 x 210 mm


1,553 g

Media Enquiries

To request a press release, review copy, author image or to organise an extract or interview.

Phone: (03) 8459 2289

Always Striving : Great Essendon Moments


Always Striving is not a blow-by-blow account of the history of the Essendon Football Club. Instead, this book highlights the key moments, people and events that have helped to define it through more than 140 years of existence. From the establishment of the club in the 1870s, to four successive premierships in the 1890s, the first VFL title in 1897, the brilliance of Albert Thurgood, Dick Reynolds’ three Brownlow Medals, John Coleman’s high marking, the Windy Hill brawl against Richmond, Leon Baker’s famous goals in the 1984 Grand Final, Kevin Sheedy’s jacket waving and, in more recent times, Dustin Fletcher’s 400th game; there are many moments that have established the Bombers as one of Australia’s greatest sporting clubs. Always Striving looks at 80 of the best, and, as it covers every generation, is a must-have for any lover of the Red and Black.


An Essendon supporter, Dan Eddy wrote his first book in 2014, King Richard: the Story of Dick Reynolds, Essendon Legend, which was the first biography on the football legend rated Essendon’s greatest player. He co-authored Champions: Conversations with Great Players and Coaches of Australian Football (Slattery Media Group 2016), authored Skills of Australian Football (Slattery Media Group 2016), and worked with Gold Medal-winning aerial skier, Lydia Lassila, updating her biography The Will To Fly (Slattery Media Group 2016).


Always Striving - Book Review (

Simon Conways interview with author, Dan Eddy:

Always Striving Media Release

Download PDF

Contact Us

Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

© 2024 The Slattery Media Group ABN: 57 217 020 071. All rights reserved.